There are both state and federal laws that govern workplaces in Colorado. These laws are in place to protect workers and make sure they are treated fairly. One area that may be of particular interest to Denver area workers are breaks. Colorado law has state-level rules that require its employers to provide rest periods to their employees.
Colorado break law
Under Colorado law, employers must give their workers a 10-minute break for every four hours an employee works. If it can be accommodated without an undue burden, the break should fall about halfway through each 4-hour shift. When an employee is scheduled for more than 5 hours in a row then the employer must provide a 30-minute meal break. An employer does not have to pay the employee for the 30 minutes, but they must also not expect that their employee will perform any work during this time period. If an employee is expected to work during these 30 minutes, then they are entitled to pay.
If an employee believes they have substantial wage and hour claims against their employer, they may want to speak with an attorney who specializes in employment law. They have extensive experience in wage and hour law and can represent their client in wage disputes. They understand how important it is for a Colorado employee to be treated fairly and they will help represent their best interests and protect their interests. They are dedicated to offer legal guidance in even the most complicated employment law issues.