Workers who feel trapped in a job may be slow to make a claim for wages they believe they are owed. If you are in that situation, you need to know that Colorado law protects you and makes it much easier for you to file a claim for wages you may be entitled to for any reason.
There have been many filings for unpaid wages and the cases are being resolved. If you have any questions, it is a good idea to seek out an attorney experienced in making these claims to fight for your hard earned wages.
$1.8 million last year
The Colorado Department of Labor and Employment (CDLE) cited employers for a total of $1.8 million in unpaid wages and fines in 2017. This was the result of 1,062 claims filed, 802 of which were upheld. Most of these complaints were from previous years, but took some time to be filed by employees.
The most common disputes came from disagreements on overtime rules, vacation pay, and separation packages. In most cases, CDLE found that the mistakes were based on a lack of awareness of wage law, rather than anything malicious.
The wages paid to employees from this action are the result of the Wage Protection Act of 2014. This gives CDLE more power to recover unpaid wages and impose fines for employers who do not comply. In 2017 a new law was added to this requiring that all actions be reported.
Workers making a claim are capped at $7,500 each, so this does not cover all situations involving back pay. But it does help substantially and it makes the process much easier for workers who believe they have been underpaid.
Know your rights
If you suspect that you have been shorted pay by your employer it is good to understand your rights. A consultation with an attorney experienced in cases involving the Colorado Wage and Hour Claim Law can help determine if you have a claim and how to file for your back wages.
We have one of the strongest laws protecting workers in any situation. If you feel you have been treated unfairly it is important that you take action and exercise your rights.