Employers in Colorado do not have to offer paid vacation time to their employees at all. However, should they extend this benefit to their employees, workers need to remember that they may be entitled to compensation for their unused but earned vacation time.
A previous post here discussed how a major corporation in the Denver area has been accused of violating wage and hour laws. The post explained that the corporation had been accused of giving its employees too much work to do in order to effectively force them into working uncompensated overtime.
DaVita, a large corporation based in Denver, is facing almost 40 lawsuits alleging that the company violated wage and hour laws. The lawsuits are pending before a federal court.
The United States Department of Labor has proposed raising the threshold that certain employees must earn before they can qualify for an exemption from mandatory overtime.
Although federal law also covers when Denver-area employees are entitled to a break, at least to some extent, Colorado has its own state-level rules that require employers in this state to give their employees certain breaks while they are on duty.
Like many other states, Colorado actually has a minimum wage, $10.20 an hour, that is higher than that required by the federal government. Colorado's Wage Order also requires that employers pay their hourly employees time-and-a-half, $15.30 an hour, when they work more than 40 hours in a week or more than 12 hours in a given day or shift.
For every hour a person is working, it is another hour not spent with family, friends or leisure. As such, every worker is entitled to the pay they have earned. For some, pay can get complicated when figuring in overtime or other unusual hours.