Every driver knows that owning a car comes at a price. Not only are you paying for the car itself, but you're also paying to keep it in good condition and insured. And when it comes to people who drive for a living, the price of owning and maintaining a car seems to triple. So who should pick up the bill for keeping the car on the road - the employer or the employee?
Workers who feel trapped in a job may be slow to make a claim for wages they believe they are owed. If you are in that situation, you need to know that Colorado law protects you and makes it much easier for you to file a claim for wages you may be entitled to for any reason.
Working for a company but not being classified as an employee can cause quite a few issues. Most people -- whether they reside in Colorado or elsewhere -- just want jobs, good jobs that offer a living wage and benefits. Unfortunately, some may find that they are hired as independent contractors rather than employees. Being a misclassified worker can mean not receiving all the benefits to which one believed he or she was entitled.
Numerous people across the country work for employers who start their salaries at minimum wage. Every state has different laws when it comes to how much minimum wage is. What does Colorado's current minimum wage law say? According to the the state's Department of Labor and Employment, as of Jan. 1, 2017, minimum wage was increased to $9.30 per hour. This is a .99 cent increase from the previous year. It may not seem like much, but this can make a big difference over time.
In Colorado and elsewhere, how one's job status is classified can make a big impact on one's pay and ability to receive benefits. Recently, a man in another state has filed a class action lawsuit against his employer, United Van Lines, claiming that his employment status was misclassified. By having him listed as an independent contractor instead of a full-time employee, his income allegedly suffered and he had to cover many job-related expenses out of pocket.
There is a portion of Colorado residents who go to work just about every day, putting their time in and not getting fully compensated for it. What can someone in this position do? According to the Fair Labor Standards Act, one in such a position may file a wage and hour claim against his or her employer.
A popular restaurant in another state is being sued by current and former employees in a wage dispute. Unfortunately, what has happened to them is fairly common in the restaurant industry. A wage and hour claim can be filed by Colorado residents who have or are experiencing similar issues.
In Colorado and elsewhere, there are individuals who have not been fully compensated by their employers for their time spent on the job. These individuals have the right to file a wage and hour claim in court in an effort to seek compensation for their losses. In many cases, back pay may be awarded.
Many individuals are wage-and-hour employees. This means that workers get paid an hourly wage rather than a yearly salary. Though this type of payment may seem convenient for getting compensated for time worked, there is also a chance that minimum wage law could be broken. In these cases, many workers may be cheated out of rightfully-earned wages.
Many individuals may visit restaurants or other similar establishments and not give much thought to their servers or other workers. It is especially unlikely that the casual customer is concerned with whether the workers are being properly compensated for their work. Unfortunately, many workers do have such concerns, and in some cases, a wage and hour claim may be necessary to address wage violations.