Numerous people across the country work for employers who start their salaries at minimum wage. Every state has different laws when it comes to how much minimum wage is. What does Colorado's current minimum wage law say? According to the the state's Department of Labor and Employment, as of Jan. 1, 2017, minimum wage was increased to $9.30 per hour. This is a .99 cent increase from the previous year. It may not seem like much, but this can make a big difference over time.
Employees who make money from tips do not have to be paid the full $9.30 an hour, however. The state has also set a minimum wage for tipped employees. This is $6.28 per hour.
Whether one is a tipped employee or simply a minimum wage earner, all employees in the state of Colorado are protected by the provisions set forth in the 2017 Wage Order. They are also protected by the provisions offered in the Fair Labor Standards Act. What does all this mean? It means that, according to Colorado minimum wage law, employees are guaranteed a set payment, and that payment is to be paid in a timely manner.
Employees who are not receiving fair pay or whose employers are not abiding by the provisions listed in the current wage order may have legal recourse. With the assistance of an experienced employment law attorney, those Colorado residents whose employers are in violation of the state's current minimum wage law may pursue compensation by filing legal actions in civil court. If litigation proves successful, relief for any documented damages may be awarded.
Source: colorado.gov, "Minimum Wage", Accessed on Sept. 8, 2017