Employees Must Be Paid On Time

Timing Is Important

For workers who depend on a paycheck, it's essential that they receive that paycheck in a timely manner. In Colorado, there are legal requirements for private employers outlining the required timing of employee's paychecks. When employees don't receive timely payments, they may struggle financially. But employers who don't pay their workers in a timely manner could also face legal trouble. If you need guidance on your rights and obligations around pay period timing in Colorado, contact The Litigation Boutique LLC in Denver, Colorado.

Colorado employees depend on their paychecks to make ends meet. It doesn't matter if employers pay their employees in full, but weeks or months too late — the delay still qualifies as a violation under the Colorado Wage Act.

What Are The Requirements?

According to the Colorado Wage Act, pay periods can be no longer than 30 days, and employees must be paid no more than 10 days after the 30-day pay period ends. Pay stubs must outline certain information, including the pay period, the payment amount and any deductions made from the paycheck. These are not just rough guidelines, but legal requirements. Employers who fail to abide by these requirements can face steep fines.

Contact A Lawyer Who Knows The Colorado Wage Act

Attorney Leah VanLandschoot is a go-to resource for Colorado employers and employees needing clarification about their rights under the Colorado Wage Act. To schedule your appointment at our Denver law firm, call 303-578-2833, or send us an email to learn more.